DNP Focus Areas

Among our 12 focus areas are 10 that lead to advanced practice roles and two that lead to systems-focused roles. We also offer a post-master's DNP for those who are already certified with an MS in a focus area that is offered by our college. And if you're a doctorally prepared nurse practitioner who wants to add or change focus areas, we have a 10 post-DNP certificates.

Focus areas leading to advanced practice roles as nurse practitioners or nurse midwives

Focus areas leading to systems-focused roles

For NPs who have a DNP: Post-DNP Certificates

Already certified with an MS in an area you love?

Enhance it with a post-master’s DNP.

Nurses who have a master’s degree in any focus area that is offered by the UIC College of Nursing may apply for a post-master’s DNP. The program will include didactic coursework as well as a DNP project and practicum experience.

Learn about the Post-Master's DNP