Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Distinguished Mentor of Faculty Award

Distinguished Mentor of Faculty Award

The Distinguished Mentor of Faculty Award recognizes a faculty member who has made an outstanding contribution to faculty mentorship. Heading link

The award includes a cash gift and a commemorative plaque presented at an award ceremony, at which the awardee gives a presentation describing their philosophy and history of mentorship. The recipient may be required to serve a term on the faculty mentorship taskforce.


All faculty, including emeriti faculty, are eligible.


Submissions are due each year on February 15

Nomination Process

Nomination should include the following information:

1.) The nomination form

2.) Two letters of support from peers and/or mentees addressing the candidate’s mentorship (not to exceed three pages per letter).

  • Evidence of outstanding contributions to mentoring faculty as illustrated by mentee successes, mentee scholarship and career advancement, the impact of the mentee’s work, etc.
  • Influence of the nominee on mentees over a period of time, with particular reference to the breadth and depth of the mentoring.

3.) Nominee’s recent Curriculum Vitae or Resume.

All nominations and supporting materials will be held in confidence. The Director of the College Mentorship Program and the Faculty Executive Committee will select the recipient of the Distinguished Mentor of Faculty Award. Since the Faculty Executive Committee coordinates the selection process, members of the Faculty Executive Committee who submitted letters of support will recuse themselves from voting. In addition, if a member of the Faculty Executive Committee is one of the nominees, the nominee will not participate in the review or selection process. Previous awardees are not eligible.

Submit: Nomination Form

Past recipients Heading link

  • 2021 Colleen Corte, PhD, RN, FAAN
  • 2020 (fall) Barbara L. McFarlin, PhD ’05, CNM, RDMS, FACNM, FAAN
  • 2020 (spring) Carol Estwing Ferrans, PhD ‘85, RN, FAAN
  • 2019 Martha Dewey Bergren, DNS, RN, NCSN, PHNA-BC, FNASN, FAAN

Questions? Contact Claire DeConte Heading link

Director of Faculty Affairs

1515 5th Ave., Suite,